Public Holidays Spain 2017: Time to start planning!

As 2017 gets into full swing and we start thinking about the year ahead, planning holidays, family meet ups and day trips, it is a good idea to consider the dates for public holidays Spain 2017.

If you are planning your relocation and arranging to visit schools and visit potential rental properties, you will find many places closed on these dates. Avoid them if you can.

family-life-in-spain-quote

If you are looking for the 2016/2017 school holiday calendar, visit here.

 

According to Spain’s BOE official state bulletin, these are the public holidays Spain 2017:

NOTES: 

  • If a National Holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the following Monday may also be declared a holiday date.
  • There are many local holidays that are not included on this calendar, ensure you do your research about the area you plan to visit, before making any plans.

2017

Date

2017

Day

Name of Holiday

Where in Spain?

1 Jan Sun New Year’s Day National
2 Jan Mon New Year’s Day  Holiday* Andalusia, Aragon, Asturias, Castile and Leon, Murcia and Melilla
6 Jan Fri Día de Reyes (Kings’ Day) National
28 Feb Tue Día de Andalucía Andalusia
1 Mar Wed Balearic Islands Regional Holiday Balearic Islands
20 Mar Mon St. Joseph’s Day Extremadura and Madrid
13 Apr Thu Jueves Santo (Semana Santa) National (Except Catalonia)
14 Apr Fri Viernes Santo/  Santo Entierro (Semana Santa) National
17 Apr Mon Easter Monday Balearic Islands, Catalonia, Valencia,  Navarra, Basque Country and La Rioja
24 Apr Mon San Jordi Aragon
24 Apr Mon Castile and Leon Regional Holiday Castile and Leon
1 May Mon Día de los trabajadores National
2 May Tue Madrid Regional Holiday Madrid
17 May Wed Galician Literature Day Galicia
30 May Tue Canary Islands Regional Holiday Canary Islands
31 May Wed Castile-La Mancha Regional Holiday Catille-La Mancha
9 Jun Fri Murcia Regional Holiday Muricia
9 Jun Fri La Rioja Regional Holiday La Rioja
15 Jun Thu Corpus Christi Catille-La Mancha
24 Jun Sat St. John’s Day Catalonia
25 Jul Tue Santiago Apostle / National Day of Galicia Galicia, Navarra and the Basque Country
15 Aug Tue Assumption of Mary National
1 Sep Fri Feast of the Sacrifice / Eid al-Adha * Ceuta & Melilla
8 Sep Fri Astorias Regional Holiday Asturias
8 Sep Fri Extremadura Regional Holiday Extremadura
11 Sep Mon National Day of Catalonia Catalonia
15 Sep Fri Cantabria Regional Holiday Cantabria
9 Oct Mon Valencian Regional Holiday Valencia
12 Oct Thu Fiesta Nacional de España National
1 Nov Wed Todos los santos National
6 Dec Wed Constitution Day National
8 Dec Fri Immaculate Conception National
25 Dec Mon Navidad/ Christmas Day National
26 Dec Tue St. Stephen’s Day Catalonia

 

We’ll be adding information about all these holidays on the blog, so make sure you sign up for updates!

If you’d like to write about your favourite Spanish Festival, or you think we’ve made any mistakes, please Contact Us

The following two tabs change content below.

Lisa Sadleir

Founder at Family in Spain SL
We love Family Life In Spain. Join us as we share experiences and essential updates, advice & assistance related to living in and moving to Spain. ¡ Olé !

Comments

comments

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares
Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!